Leadership Lackawanna
Northeastern Pennsylvania’s premier community leadership and professional development organization

About Leadership Lackawanna

About Leadership Lackawanna



Leadership Lackawanna (LL), a community education organization, was founded on June 22, 1982, by private and public sector officials, community leaders including Governor and Mrs. William Scranton, and The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce.

Located in northeastern Pennsylvania and serving the best interests of Lackawanna County and its citizens, LL is an established 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to leadership and professional development. LL offers three different programs - teen leadership, core leadership and executive leadership. Its curriculum follows the format and standards of all other community leadership programs throughout the United States.

The mission of LL is to enhance the skills and knowledge of the area's emerging professionals through premier leadership development programs enabling them to better serve their organizations and communities.

Since inception, LL has graduated more than 2,000 community leaders.






Nicole Morristell

Nicole became the director of Leadership Lackawanna in 2008. Nikki comes to Leadership Lackawanna from the local Girl Scout organization where she served in a number of positions over the years. She is a 1998 graduate of Tunkhannock Area High School, Tunkhannock, PA and a 2002 graduate of Elizabethtown College, Elizabethtown, PA.

She is an active board member of Association of Leadership Programs (ALP) and a founding board member of the Endless Mountains Nature Center. Nikki is also involved with The Nature Conservancy, Countryside Conservancy, Supporters of Camp Archbald and Haiti Partnership.



Board of Directors

2017 - 2018 Directors

  • Nunzi Allegrucci
  • Lee Borthwick
  • Holly Carron
  • Madeline Levy Cruz
  • Heather Davis
  • Thomas DePietro
  • Ellen Farrell
  • Mike Ferguson
  • Meghan Gagorik
  • Gerard Hetman
  • Brad Kovaleski
  • Kelley Lindsay
  • Lindsey Loss
  • Brian Loughney
  • Jon Martineau
  • Elizabeth Nagy
  • Alana Roberts
  • Melissa Saddlemire
  • Angela Schuback
  • Donna Simpson

2017 - 2018 Officers

  • Robbie Risley - Chair
  • Kristen Shemanski - Vice-Chair
  • Carmen Ferranti  - Treasurer
  • Jill Valentini - Secretary